Posted by: simplyelizabeth | April 5, 2012

Sisters

Last night I did the day one study.  It was to read chapter 4 in the Made to Crave book.  I know we don’t all have the book, but after last week I decided it would benefit me to get it. 

I’m going to be honest, again, girls.  I can’t say that in this study I feel God is calling me to give up bread and sugar.  This is where Lysa felt  God was calling her to be more disciplined. She knew this was an area in her life she was holding back from her Heavenly Father.

However, I see several areas in my life that I feel are OK to be off limits.  Why should I think anything is my life is off limits to God?  Possibly it’s the brain damage I spoke of yesterday.  It is quite laughable to think any one of us presumes we have the right to possess something all our own when God owns it all – the good, the bad and the ugly.  It’s kind of like when my Adam told me awhile back that I wasn’t fair and he felt like I was trying to control his life. 

Ha ha ha Heeee hee hee hee Oooo oooo oooo MY GOODNESS!  Adorable, isn’t he?  His father and I informed him that was the way it was going to be for the next 10 years or so.  Poor guy. 

So can you relate to Adam?  I can. 

I  feel God is calling me to be self controlled and to be more disciplined in several areas of my life.  One of those areas is definitely my food intake.  Another is my TV time.  I would be ashamed to tell you how much time I devote to the boob tube.  It lets me check out of the mess that surrounds me in my house.  It’s an avoidance tool for me.  If I would turn to the Word and Him in prayer when I have these feelings, there is no doubt in my mind I would be the conqueror He says I already am.

Now, this next part was my favorite section in the chapter.  It was about accountability.  I most certainly need accountability.  We all do.  When I was successful with Weight Watchers 3 years ago, it was that accountability of having to weigh in front of someone.  It was also the accountability I felt to the group as a whole.  Surprisingly enough, I didn’t feel judged.  It was freeing to have to answer to someone for my actions, be they good or bad. 

We are all sisters in Christ and we were made to support one another.  I’ve always been drawn to the fact that I have brothers and sisters in Christ.  I think because I’m an only brat and desired siblings.  After I became a Christian, I didn’t have to desire them anymore. 

I’m going to challenge you, if you have not already, to pick a sister, or a brother, and ask them to be your accountability partner in this journey that the Lord is leading.  You may need more than one.  Lysa had one that had gone on the journey before her and one that was traveling the same road with her at the same time.  Don’t be afraid to enlist your sisters to pray for you and lift you up.  Put out the call and I am sure it will be answered.  I know I will answer!

Decide what your plan is and put out a plea.  Each of our plans will be different, but it doesn’t matter.  We’re all in it together. 

I loved the conversation yesterday!  Comments make my heart sing. 🙂

See you tomorrow!  I pray the Holy Spirit rain down on you today and bless you in ways you never thought possible. 

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I’m glad you started blogging – love it & love you, Sister!!

    • 🙂 So blessed to have you in my life Sister!

  2. Love the comment on support and accountability………keep it coming!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

