Posted by: simplyelizabeth | April 18, 2012

The Safety Lock

Last night when we were discussing triggers and truths, there was a lot of truth that got to through to me.  I very often find myself in a place of feeling inadequate where my home, marriage, finances, children and myself are concerned.  (the indequacies are listed in no particular order)

Yes, my mind is a twisted battlefield.

My mind runs amuck with all the things I should have done, I should be doing and what I need to do yet am not.  When my mind is running amuck,  feelings of inadequacy begin to overwhelm me.  I then hear the enemy’s lies say, “Why bother trying.  It’s never going to be good enough.  Don’t even start because you will just fail – again – like you have so many times before.”  All the good things that God has “lavished” us with seem to be out of my reach because I can only hear the enemy and his lies. 

I am here to tell you NO MORE sister!  And I do mean NO MORE! There is power in the name of the Lord and His Word and I don’t need to fight because the battle has already been won. 

Did you catch that sisters?  The battle is already won!  WooHoo!!!  Pump it up!

Can I get a big AMEN!

Whew!  What a relief to know I need not exert unneccessary energy because I can simply call out to Jesus.  I’m sure you’ve noticed I have no problem with speaking or anything that has to do with conversation so calling out to Him should be like second nature to me. 

I now have a plan.  It involves a safety lock to keep the trigger from being pulled.  I’m going to have several safety locks.  I plan to keep several verses on my phone and in my purse and in my bathroom and anyplace else I may need them.  His Word will guide me in the direction He needs me to go.  It will also keep me from temptation by reminding me what is real. 

We all want to keep it real, right?

If we don’t arm ourselves with God’s Word, then we are like loaded guns with a hair-trigger.  You wouldn’t keep guns in your house without a safety lock (I hope) so don’t let yourself run around like a loose cannon.

Now go find some verses and make yourself safe.  Come back and share what speaks to you.  I think we will all have verses that speak to us depending on where we are in life and what He has in store for us. 

My testimony for today is that fresh Square Donuts were brought into my place of work.  I’ve walked by them several times and they seriously don’t interest me at all.  Praise God for that today. 

Seriously, Square Donuts are not easy to dismiss.  It’s truly a work of God.

AND Praise God that I found my rings in a pocket as I was doing laundry last night. 🙂 God is soooo Good!

Blessings & Hugs, Elizabeth

Responses

  1. Love your comments. I have been feeling the need to find Bible verses to use ever since we started this study. But always found other things that needed to be done. So, I am logging off & finding my Bible & Beth Moore’s book, ‘Praying God’s Word’ & get started. All the while ignoring the hammering sounds over my heard—we are having our roof done. Carolyn

  2. You go Elizabeth!! So happy you have found “freedom” with food and found your rings! Yes…God is Good…ALL THE TIME! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

