Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 23, 2015

The Only Way To Fail Is To Quit Trying

Yep – I’m back at it.  This is yet another restart for me.  I’m feeling called.  I’d tell you how many times I’ve restarted, but I lost count.  (Please don’t scroll back through to count and tell me how many.) 🙂  Thank you for your support.

I’ve been doing some soul searching.  Actually I do that a lot.  I think about what I need to do to get the results I day dream about, but then that’s about as far as I go.  To make the changes that I know need done, well, that would take work.  Lots of work.  I’d probably have to give up some shows in the evening which means I wouldn’t be able to plop on the couch after dinner. If I’ve been at work all day, don’t I deserve to do nothing in the evening?  Why can’t the dishes and laundry take care of themselves?   I’d also have to plan ahead, like more than 30 minutes ahead. This too would mean giving up some of my guilty pleasures.  What can I say?  My flesh is sinful and likes to indulge in what it considers pleasure.  Or is it?

I should tell you I’m a great starter, but a lousy finisher.  For years I’ve been searching for the answer.  I’ve had help and support from friends and family.  I have prayed for an instantaneous change to rid me of my weaknesses.  Boy have I prayed.  I have not been rescued from myself.  I have continued on in my lack of ……what is the word I’m looking for……..oh!!!! I know.  It’s discipline.  That thing I try to instill in my children.  I try to instill it in them, but it seems to evade me.  Hmmmmm.

Today is as good a day as any to start again.  I need to remind myself, and maybe you need reminded, His mercies are new every single day.  New Every Day.  That alone should be enough to encourage me to forge ahead.  Or as Nike says, Just Do It!

I have lived in a world where I seem to think I’m going to be inspired to do dishes, laundry, cleaning or yard work.

Yes, I’m that disillusioned.

Apparently, after 44 years and 7 months, I’ve found out I’m wrong.  Only people who need years of therapy are inspired to do these things, or so I’ve heard.

I know. It’s disappointing.   It’s like when you have to tell your mom she was right.  😉

Anyway, I’m just doing it.

Do I think this is some earth shattering post I’m sharing with you?

No.

Do I think it’s going to change your life?

No.

I do think that this is a place to start though.  It’s with new mercies.  What more could I ask for?

And Amen.

Blessings & Hugs,

Elizabeth

Responses

  1. I can relate!!! So glad you are posting again!!! I enjoy your humor and view of the world. I’m looking forward to your next post!

  2. I thank you for your encouragement BFF Jen! Can’t wait to see yours.:)

  3. There’s my friend!! Love to read your writings!


Leave a Reply

Categories

