Posted by: simplyelizabeth | September 25, 2015

Membership Has It’s Privileges!

Last Sunday Pastor Paul spoke about being a true family and I loved it!  I love my church family and I can’t say that enough. I Love My Church Family! It truly is my family.  We celebrate together, cry together, lift each other up and watch out for each other.

I’ve preached this myself, in my own way before. Paul may have taken notes from me……don’t laugh, it’s possible.  As an only brat, I mean only child, I’ve always desired siblings.  Some of you may question my sanity, but I truly desired an older brother and younger sister growing up. Yes I did.  (My mother did not desire for me to have either one of those. Apparently I was enough for her. You can decide if she thought I was perfect and you shouldn’t fool with perfection or if I was all she could handle. ;))Once I became a Christian, I realized I acquired a whole new family with more brothers and sisters than I could count.  How exciting! I became a part of something so much bigger than myself.  I was a part of the family of God. WooHoo!

So now what?  What do you do after you become a child of God? Is that all there is?

That is not all there is.  There is more.  So much more!  It’s not like joining an organization so it will look good on your resume.  It’s not fire insurance.  If that’s all you think there is, then you are missing out on a great adventure.  You’re missing out on the best that God has to offer.  Really you are. Please don’t miss out.

What is it that you may miss?  Being a member.  Being a part in more than name only.  Being an instrument of God.  Yes, that sounds dramatic, but it’s the truth.  I wouldn’t lie to you about this.  My weight, in a New York minute, but not this.  This is BIG!

I’m going to plea with you to attend the New Members luncheon after church this Sunday.  Come connect. Come be a part of something bigger than yourself.  Who doesn’t want to be a part of something great?  I know I do.  I know that God is moving in our church and I do not want to miss what he’s doing.  Do you?

Let me tell you a little bit about being a member of the body of Christ.  Whether you are a member at our church or another, you need to plug yourself in.

What good is a pretty lamp if it’s not plugged in?  It looks good, but it’s purpose is to shine light in the darkness – not to just look good.

What good is a gym membership if you don’t use the equipment or exercise programs?  It’s not.  I would love to tell you that you can become a lean, mean, toned machine by virtue of owning a membership, but it’s just not true.  (Don’t laugh, but I’ve tried.  I bet some of you have too)

Can you get clean laundry by simply owning a washer and dryer?  No you cannot.  Sooner or later, you’re going to run out of clean underwear.  (Um, I know this to be true too.)

These things only work if you use them.

I know what you’re thinking.  Work is a 4 letter word and why should you work at church.

The answer to this is what your mom and dad told you a long time ago.  Anything worth having is worth working for. You work to show the gift of Christ’s kingdom that you’ve been given by providing what the kids need in Sunday School, Children’s Worship, AWANA and VBS.   You work to provide what your brothers and sisters need by helping with Adult Sunday School classes, Women’s Ministry, Men’s Ministry, WMU and so much more.  It really isn’t about these programs.  It’s all about building His kingdom and reaching the world for Christ.

I hope to see you Sunday afternoon!

Blessings & Hugs,

Elizabeth

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

