Posted by: simplyelizabeth | October 28, 2015

So, How Do You Conquer It?

What is it you ask? It is anything that ties you up, binds you and generally just stops you in your tracks.  It keeps you from moving forward.  It is that thing that drags you down.  It could be a person in your life or a circumstance you are in. It is that little voice that tells you to forget being that person God has called you to be. It distracts you from the work your Father has for you. It makes you think the abundant life is impossible.  It tells you your life will never change.  It wants you to get stuck in the mired muck of day to day  events.  It is a lie from the enemy.

All of us have it.  My it is different than yours, I’m sure.  It may have been living with you for so long that you don’t even recognize it for what it is.  It may have attached itself to you and spilled over into your family and work.

How do you slay it?  Pray fervently.  Isn’t fervently a great word!   I don’t know about you, but when I break down and cry out to my Father, I feel a burden lifted.  I may need to return to prayer the very next hour, maybe next minute, but I know He will lift it again.  Even if I cannot articulate it, the Holy Spirit will intercede for  me.  Holy Spirit, come fill me.

Hebrews 11:1 says “Faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.”  I have this on a chalk board in my living room and saw it as I left my house this morning.  I see this everyday, but today it struck me.  It is not about what we see, it is about what we don’t see.  When we pray, we are reaching out to things unseen, but our faith is steadfast and sure that He is there.  What really matters is not the circumstance that our eyes see, but what we know to be true in the depths of our soul and praying fervently to Him who we do not see in this earthly realm.  We don’t need to see Him to feel his presence.  We know is is with us always because the Bible tells us so.

Amen?

Amen!

Hugs & Blessings,

Elizabeth

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Amen! Good thoughts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

